Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Borough Departments

There are many ways in which the Borough of Carlstadt works to serve the community. The following are the Borough’s major departments, including a description of their main functions. (Note: For a list of phone numbers, please view our office hours and phone numbers page.)

Responsible for overall Borough operations. Key staff members include the Borough CFO Dominick Giancaspro, Borough Clerk Claire Foy, Deputy Borough Clerk Kim Koziel, Emergency Management Coordinator Hernan Lopez, Tax Collector Chris Assenheimer, Court Administrator Ilona Doviak.



Tax Collector

Construction Official/Zoning/Planning


Housing Department

Planning Department

Department of Public Works


Zoning Department

Court Administrator

Social Services

Public safety
Responsible for all safety and emergency activities in the Borough. Key staff members include Chief of Police Thomas Neilson, Fire Chief Daniel Eckert, and Office of Emergency Management Coordinator Hernan Lopez

Police Department/Chief

Fire Department/Fire Safety

Ambulance Corporation

Responsible for maintenance and programming in the Borough’s parks. Key staff members include the Director of Recreation Jim Lenoy


Public Works
Responsible for the major utilities and infrastructure of the Borough. Key staff members include the Director of Public Works Joe Crifasi.

Public Works

Back to top